THE NEW YEAR

Cold, stuffed and fatigue would be perhaps the 3 most reasonable and related words to sum up and conclude my 12 days holiday break for Christmas this year. It’s unbelievable to put together a mental list of all the things you want to do over the break, then the break through eureka moment with one day left when you realise you’ve probably achieved less than half of the goals you set out to do due to over intoxication of alcohol, or in my case gallons of fizzy drinks additionally relentless amounts of chocolate, meat and gassy… very gassy vegetables. With that aside, I couldn’t have asked for a more festive, relaxed and gaming fulled holiday break. Yes, I got my newly beloved family member, PS VITA Slim, which I’ve clocked probably around 60 hours on in the 10 days I’ve had the device. Being the sucker I am I fell for all the almost predictable 14 Year old reviews and bought myself the ‘have to’ buy game for the PS VITA, Killzone Mercenary. As many of you are aware the FPS has recieved continuous amounts of praise for its utilisation of features for the VITA, (nothing compared to tearaway) and yes I’ve got to admit some of the knife kills and assassinations are pretty cool, and the visuals are as expected very nice. I suspect I’m probably around 30 mins of game time away from completing the linear ‘story’ which has been quite fun, however, the game does feel quite sluggish when moving around on the X and Y axis but that’s probably more down to the small dual analogues and less the games fault, that being said, the maximum sensitivity for the axis is around half of how fast I would like it to be. Still, for £15 its worth a buy. I mentioned Tearaway within a matter of words before and I would like a few more to explain the continuous amounts of love I share for this game and the amount of regret I have for completing it quite frankly as physically possible as I had done. Tearaway, to those who don’t know, is a cute, puzzle solving RPG which… well, take a read of wikipedia;

‘Tearaway is about a messenger on a mission to deliver a unique message to the player, referred to by characters in-game as “the You”.[5] At the beginning of the game players can choose whether to play as the male character, Iota, or the female, Atoi, and navigate through a world constructed from paper to deliver the message. The player uses of many of the Vita’s features to guide Iota or Atoi, and must battle with scraps, small enemies that try to prevent the delivery.’

And its true, it really is, I was blown away with the VITA’s features it had to offer in Tearaway. Screaming, blowing, photographing, drawing, poking, dragging, shaking, tilting, rotating, and controlling are all ways you use the VITA’s microphone, camera, controls and back & front touch screen to control your little rag doll paper figure around this lost paper world to deliver a message. It really is something special, funny and exceedingly cute, and to say I got it free with my bundle from good ‘ol amazon, I couldn’t be happier with the 5 hours of game play it blessed me with.

Featured image

So with my VITA aside, and another loved and welcoming greeting from the Legendary Team and myself, I hope you had a lovely, snowy and Merry Christmas wherever you come from. With my last blog post in mind, I’m still really excited to see where this year takes Legendary and as of next year, we may be working on a new project entirely which is very very exciting indeed. Stay tuned for more information and don’t forget to check out our games and other links!

Happy New Year!

LG_Logo_Gradient

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tearaway_%28video_game%29#Plot

 http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/3/35/Tearaway_finger_gameplay_photo.jpg

Leave a comment